Sayre Says: Iconic Characters

What makes a good film? Is it simply a great plot? A skilled director? The emotion within the actors? An in-depth character? Or a recipe of everything mentioned and more? What makes a movie memorable to me is a great character. A character that you become or become friends with. A character that you hope to follow until the end and that you wish them their desires.

Here is a list of 8 bold characters that have stuck out to me:

8. 

Harry Potter

The Harry Potter Series

First and foremost, I am slightly obsessed with Harry Potter. Reading the books is the reason I love to read, so when I discovered the movies, my life as a second grader was complete. I saw the characters that only existed in my mind come alive through child actors. Throughout the years, I followed their every move in every film. As I grew, I watched the trio grow and cried during the credits of the final film. There is a reason the craze was so incredible for Harry… it was his lovable character. The lone boy, chosen to brave hardships after having much bad luck. Through trial and error and with the help of great friends, Harry always manages to succeed. And we love him.

7. 

Ferris Bueller

Ferris Bueller’s Day Off

Go ahead. Just do it. “Bueller… Bueller… Bueller.” (Even as I read it, I said it in Ben Stein’s monotone voice). What kid wouldn’t love to play a day of hooky? And not only does Ferris accomplish it, but manages to have a HELL of a day (complete with a dance routine on a parade). What makes Ferris so memorable? His quirky, I-Can-Get-Away-With-Anything wit. Matthew Broderick was cute, funny and extremely likable. If I had the chance, I would play hooky with him ANYDAY!

6. 

Vito Corleone

The Godfather

Epic. Basically sums it all up. The Godfather is famous for a reason. The criminal gangster who has strict honor rules and always puts family first. He is an icon for a reason. Even though the viewer knows he is part of a mafia and that he murders for revenge, you root for the man. He becomes “The Godfather” to you. Marlon Brando is incredible in the first film, but I believe I prefer Robert DiNero as the young Don than the older Don. There’s just something about the Don’s background that you learn to sympathize with him.

5.

The Bride (Beatrix Kiddo)

Kill Bill

Simple: her code name is Black Mamba. How cool is that?! She is one of the most kick-ass women in the entire world. It’s unbelievable. (Have you seen the Crazy 88 scene?!) Basically The Bride is a female assassin that was supposed to be assassinated. When she falls out of a coma she vows for revenge for the group of female assassins and the man (if you guessed the man is Bill, you guessed right). With determination and strength in portions that I will never possess, Beatrix strives to meet her goal: to Kill Bill.

4.

Gollum

The Lord of the Rings Trilogy

I warned you about my love for LOTR. Throughout the trilogy, I really wasn’t sure how to feel about Gollum. He was awfully mean and annoying when I was first introduced to him… but somehow… I knew there was something more behind that. I thought it was portrayed perfectly in the introduction of the film Return of the King. You see Gollum not as the monster he is… but the hobbit he once was (as Sméagol.) You could finally understand his transformation. How he was at war with himself and the Ring. You almost pity him… almost…

3. 

Jack Sparrow

Pirates of the Carribbean

There is none quite so quirky as Johnny Depp (thanks Tim Burton). Who ever thought that a scraggly, bearded, drunk, dirty pirate would become such a heartthrob? He has such wit that somehow always gets him out of (most) trouble. I particularly love the scenes of him when he is lost on a desert island. Whether he has rum or is searching for it, his drunk ways never fail to get a laugh out of me. The legends are as great as the real deal.

2. 

Tyler Durden

Fight Club

Who IS Tyler Durdan?! Yeah we know he is Brad Pitt, but where did this crazy character come from?! The odd soap salesman that seems to bring out this weird vibe in the narrator… egging on fights… starting clubs and organizations… hitting on the narrorator’s crush… plotting to blow up a bank… who does this Tyler guy think he is? Oh wait. It’s the narrator. Hold up. What?!? (That was me rewinding the movie). Yes. (Just remember, don’t talk about Fight Club).

1. 

Jules Winnfield

Pulp Fiction

Okay, so I know I am a little biased in choosing Jules as number one, but he is one kick ass character that makes Pulp Fiction SO WORTH IT. The loud and proud hit man who goes religious is one BAD MOTHERFUCKER (but seriously, that’s what it says on his wallet). You see his transformation as he goes throughout the film. A couple of close calls prove to Jules that he is meant for something bigger. So, before he pulls the trigger on someone, he recites words of wisdom from his God (Ezekiel 25:17).

Runner Ups:

– Norman Bates, Psycho

– V, V for Vendetta

– Ron Burgundy, Anchorman

– Forrest Gump, Forrest Gump

– The Joker, The Dark Knight

– Lester Burnham, American Beauty

One thought on “Sayre Says: Iconic Characters

Leave a comment